Join / Login

Administration and Consolidation under the Khaljis and Tughluqs



Delhi Sultanate in 15th-16th Centuries

The period extending from 1206- 1526 is referred as the Delhi Sultanate period. Five different dynasties ruled over Delhi region during this period. The dynasty of the Delhi Sultanate, the Lodhis (1151-1526), were involved in the incessant civil order. By the 15th- early 16th centuries the borders of the Delhi Sultanate were reduced. Between 1518 and 1526 Babur invaded India five times. Finally, he defeated Ibrahim Lodhi in 1526 at the battle of Panipat. Delhi came under the Mughal rule.