Seasons of India

The monsoon type of climate is characterized by a distinct

seasonal pattern. The weather conditions greatly change from one season to the

other. Four main seasons can be identified in India the cold weather season,

the hot weather season, the advancing monsoon and the retreating monsoon.


Cycle of seasons

The cycle of seasons is caused by Earth's tilt toward the sun. The planet rotates around an (invisible) axis. The equinoxes and solstices help us to understand how seasons occur and how they are reversed in the northern and southern hemispheres. In general there are four seasons i.e. spring, summer, autumn and winter. These four seasons generally correspond to the maximum position dates (solstice and equinox) of spring- 21st March, Summer-21st June, Autumn- 23rd September and Winter- 22nd December in the Northern Hemisphere.