Join / Login

The Himalayan Rivers



Indus river system

The river Indus rises in Tibet, near Lake Mansarowar. Flowing west, it enters India in the Ladakh district of Jammu and Kashmir. Several tributaries, the Zaskar, the Nubra, the Shyok and the Hunza, join it in the Kashmir region.The Indus flows through Baltistan and Gilgit and emerges from the mountains at Attock. The Satluj, the Beas, the Ravi, the Chenab and theJhelum join together to enter the Indus near Mithankot in Pakistan. Beyond this, the Indus flows southwards eventually reaching the Arabian Sea, east of Karachi. With a total length of 2900 km, the Indus is one of the longest rivers of the world. 


Ganga river system

The headwaters of the Ganga, called the Bhagirathi is fed by the Gangotri Glacier and joined by the Alaknanda at Devaprayag in Uttaranchal. At Haridwar the Ganga emerges from the mountains on to the plains. The Ganga is joined by many tributaries such as Yamuna, Ghaghara, Gandak, Kosi, Chambal, Betwa and Son. The Ganga flows eastwards till Farakka in West Bengal. The river bifurcates here and it further flows as the Bhagirathi-Hooghly to the Bay of Bengal. The mainstream, flows southwards into Bangladesh and is joined by the Brahmaputra. Further downstream, it is known as the Meghna.


Brahmaputra river system

The Brahmaputra rises in Tibet east of Mansarowar lake. It is slightly longer than the Indus, and most of its course lies outside India. It flows eastwards parallel to the Himalayas. On reaching the Namcha Barwa (7757 m), it takes a U turn and enters India in Arunachal Pradesh through a gorge. Here, it is called the Dihang and it is joined by the Dibang, the Lohit, the Kenula, etc.