The Himalayas

David is visiting the Himalayas, the mountains that border the north of India. He is really impressed with its size.

Himalayas - Prominent physical feature of India.

The Himalayas are young fold mountains that stretch in the northern border regions of India.

David visited a number of states that have Himalayan mountains.

They are comprised of ranges, running from west to east, from the Indus to the Brahmaputra.

Everest, the tallest peak in the world, is a part of the Himalayas!

In the longitudinal extent, the Himalayas consist of three parallel ranges.

The Himadri is the northern-most range, and it contains all the highest peaks.

A number of glaciers also descend from the Himadri.

Move a little towards the south, and you will come across the lesser Himalaya, or Himachal.

These are a little smaller when compared to the Himadri, with variations between 3700 and 4500 metres.

David loved to visit this range because of the hill stations such as the Kullu valley in Himachal Pradesh, and the beautiful Kashmir valley.

Following this, David went to visit the Shiwalik, the outermost Himalayan range.

These consist of some of the smallest peaks of the Himalayas, only up to 1100 metres.

The rivers from the upper Himalaya regions are responsible for creating the Shiwalik ranges!

This is because they are composed of the sediments brought down by these rivers which are far in the north.

You must have heard of Dehra dun, right? As it turns out, there are more of these duns!

The valleys lying between the Himachal and the Shiwaliks are known as duns. Other examples include Kotli dun and Patli dun.

Latitudinal regions of Himalayas

The latitudinal division are based on the rivers that flow through the Himalayas.

For instance, the Himalayan vallyes that lie between Indus and Satluj are called Punjab Himalaya.

Between the Satluj and Kali rivers, the Himalayan regions are known as Kumaon hills.

The Kali and Teesta rivers mark the Nepal Himalayas.

The Assam Himalayas lie between the Teesta and Dihang rivers.

David is adventurous, so he moves further than the Dihang valleys, and comes across the Purvanchal hills!

The Patkai, Naga, Miso and Manipur hills are part of the Purvanchal hills.

David also visited the Brahmaputra, river that marks the eastern boundary of the Himalayas.

These Purvanchal hills are made up of sedimentary rocks.


The Himalayas are young fold mountains that run across the northern border of India.

The Himalayas are divided into three ranges, which are the Himadri, the Himachal, and the Shiwaliks.

The Himadri consists of the loftiest peaks of the Himalayas, while the Shiwaliks consist of some smaller peaks.

In the east, the Himalayas bend over to the northeastern states where they are called Purvanchal hills.

Miso, Manipur and Naga hills are some of the ranges that the Purvanchal hills are made of.