The making of the Indian constitution

The constitution of India came into effect on January 26, 1950. But do you know who wrote it? Let us find out this, and much more, together!

The history of the constitution

Let us see what happened before the constitution was written.

It was clear in December 1946 that India would become independent soon.

Therefore, politicians and leaders had many meetings to discuss India’s future.

These meetings were held between 1946 and November 1949.

The collection of all politicians and leaders was known as the Constituent Assembly.

These meetings were held in New Delhi, the capital of the nation.

All these discussions in all the meetings resulted in the writing of the constitution, which came into effect on 26 January 1950.

Dr. BR Ambedkar was the chairman of the drafting committee of the constitution.

He played the most important role in drafting of the constitution.

The three pillars of the constitution

There were three features of the constitution that set India apart from other nations, and its history.

The first was the universal adult franchise, which meant that all citizens above 21 years old were given the right to vote.

This was irrespective of their caste, religion, and gender.

The second feature was that the constitution guaranteed equality before law to all citizens.

This was also irrespective of caste, gender, or religion of the people.

The third feature was the abolishment of untouchability, and granting equal rights to the poor sections of society.

This was done as a measure to right the wrongs committed by the higher castes in the past.

The powers of governments

The constitution proposed that there should be a balance of power between states and centre.

It provided three lists of subjects for the governments to preside over.

The union list contained those subjects on which the central government was responsible.

This included taxes, defense, and foreign affairs.

The state list consisted of subjects over which the states were responsible.

This contained subjects like education, and health.

The third list, concurrent list, contained subjects over which both centre and state governments were responsible.

This included subjects like forests and agriculture.

As far as language is concerned, the constitution declares Hindi as the official language.

English is used in courts, services, and communications between two states.

Apart from Hindi there are 21 other official languages.


The constitution of India came into effect on 26 January, 1950.

There were several meetings held by the Constituent Assembly between 1946 and 1949 that led to the drafting of the constitution.

BR Ambedkar was the chairman of the drafting committee, and played the most important role.

The constitution consisted of three major features that separated India from other countries, and the past.

It introduced universal adult franchise, equality before law, and abolished untouchability, giving equal rights to all.

To balance power, the constitution introduced the union, state, and concurrent lists.

These consisted of subjects that the centre or state had jurisdiction over.

Hindi and 21 other languages are chosen as official languages.