The Western and Eastern Ghats

Right at the edges, the peninsular plateau flattens out to give rise to the coastal plains, bordered by the ghats!

Let us discuss the Western Ghats and the Eastern Ghats

The Western Ghats can be crossed only through passes, as they are continuous.

These passes include the Thal, Pal and Bhor Ghats.

The Western Ghats are actually much higher than the Eastern Ghats!

The elevation of the Western Ghats, about 900-1600 metres.

The Eastern Ghats are miniscule in this respect, with an average elevation of 600 metres.

Stretching from the Mahanadi valley to the Nigiris in the south, the Eastern Ghats are discontinuous.

They are irregular, and dissected by many rivers draining into the Bay of Bengal.

Some of these rivers include the Godavari, the Mahanadi, the Krishna, and the Kaveri.

The Eastern Ghats lie in Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu.

The Eastern Ghats are also known as Mahendra Parvata.

Don’t worry, we haven’t forgotten about the Western Ghats!

Some facts about the western ghats.

Western ghats have different names in different states. This helped him realize the difference due to language.

In Maharashtra, these are known as Sahyadri, while in Kerala, they are referred to as Sahya Parvatam.

Nilagiri malai is what the locals in Tamil Nadu call the Western Ghats.

From north to south, the Western Ghats keep getting higher and higher.

The highest peak in the Western Ghats is the Anai Mudi, at 2695 metres.

It is closely followed by the 2637 metre high Doda Betta.

Compare this to the Eastern Ghats, where the highest peak Mahendragiri stands only 1501 metres high!

The Western Ghats actually cause orographic rain, by forcing the rain bearing winds to rise along the slopes.

Orographic rain is simply rainfall produced when rain winds lift over a mountain.

This phenomenon takes place along the western slopes of the Ghats.

The Shevroy and Javadi hills mark the southeast boundaries of the Eastern Ghats.

Famous hill stations such as Ooty are located in the Eastern Ghats.


The Eastern and Western Ghats lie on the edges of the plateau region.

The Western Ghats are continuous, while the Eastern Ghats are irregular.

The Western Ghats are higher than the Eastern Ghats.

Many rivers dissect the Eastern Ghats and drain into the Bay of Bengal.

The Ghats are known by different local names, eg- the Western Ghats are called Sahyadri in Maharashtra.