You might have experienced that at times your hairstyle does not remain the same when you step outside and your hair gets messy.

You also must have noticed the blowing of dry leaves.

These are all the actions of wind.

The movement of air from the high-pressure area to the low-pressure area is called Wind.

Wind can't be seen but can be felt.

Sometimes wind blows very calmly and at times it can be very strong and destroy lives too.

Winds can be divided into 3 types: Permanent, Local and Seasonal Winds.

Permanent Winds

These blow constantly throughout the year in a particular direction.

Since these winds are regular in nature and blow all throughout the year, they are called permanent winds.

The trade winds, westerlies, and easterlies are known as permanent winds.

Seasonal Winds

These winds change their direction in different seasons.

These changes in the direction of winds leads to different seasons like summer, winter and monsoon.

Local Winds

These blow only during a particular period of a day or year or within a particular area.

Land and Sea Breeze are examples of local winds as they flow in a small area in the morning and at night.

The land breeze blows from land to sea, it is usually very dry and dusty in nature.

Sea Breeze blows from sea to land. It is usually very humid in nature.

Local winds are known by different names in different regions.

In India, the local wind of northern plains is called Loo which flows during hot summer season.


The movement of air from high-pressure area to low-pressure area is called Wind.

Winds are classified into 3 types : Permanent, Seasonal and Local.

The winds which blow throughout the year in one direction are called Permanent Winds.

The winds which change direction in different seasons are called Seasonal Winds.

The winds which blow only during a particular period of a day/month/year are called Local Winds.

The End