Describe the three categories of ministers which constitute the Council of Ministers.

Verified by Toppr

The Council of Ministers is the official name for the body that includes all the Ministers. It usually has 60 to 80 Ministers of different ranks
(i) Cabinet Ministers are usually top-level leaders of the ruling party or parties who are in-charge of the major ministries. Usually the Cabinet Ministers meet to take decisions in the name of the Council of Ministers. Cabinet is thus the inner ring of the Council of Ministers. It comprises about 20 ministers.
(ii) Ministers of State with independent charge are usually in-charge of smaller ministries. They participate in the Cabinet meetings only when specially invited.
(iii) Ministers of State are attached to and required to assist Cabinet Ministers.

Was this answer helpful?
Similar Questions

What is the maximum size of the Council of Ministers according to the 91st Constitutional Amendment?

View Solution

Which Article of the Constitution states that the “Council of Ministers shall be collectively responsible to the House of the People.”

View Solution

With reference to Central Council of Ministers, consider the following statements:

1. Council of Ministers are collectively responsible to the President. 2. Council of Ministers are collectively responsible to the House of the people.

3. Resignation or death of an incumbent Prime Minister dissolves the Council of Ministers.

View Solution

Q. Which of the following Constitutional Amendments limited the Size of the Council of Ministers?

View Solution

Shivaji allocated portfolios to eight different kinds of ministers. However, the ministers of one of these categories became extremely powerful over time and became the de facto rulers while the Chhatrapati himself was reduced to a nominal ruler.

Which of the following kinds of ministers is being described in the passage above?

View Solution