Distinguish between:
(i) Converging and diverging tectonic plates.
(ii) Bhangar and Khadar.
(iii) Western Ghats and Eastern Ghats. 

Verified by Toppr

Converging tectonic platesDiverging tectonic plates
1. The plates that come towards each other and form divergent boundary are called converging tectonic plates1. The plates that move away from each other and form divergent boundary are called diverging tectonic plates.
2. In the event of two plates coming together they may either collide and crumble, or one may slide under the other.

2. They do not collide and rumble. They also do not slide under the other.

1. Bhangar is o;ld alluvial soil.1. Khadar is newer alluvial soil.
2. This soils found far from the river basins.2. This soil is found close to the river basins.
3. This soil is less fertile and therefore, not suitable for agriculture.3. This soil is very fertile and therefore, very suitable for agriculture.

Western GhatsEastern Ghats
1. The Western Ghats are formed on the western side or arm of the peninsular plateau.1. The Eastern Ghats are formed on the eastern side or arm of the peninsular plateau.
2. The western Ghats are regular and continuous and can be crossed through passes only.The Eastern Gjhats are discontinuous and irregular and dissected by rivers draining into the Bay of Bengal.
3. They lie parallel to the Malabar coast.3. They lie parallel to the Coromandel coast.
4. They are comparatively higher in elevation. Their average elevation is 900 - 1600 meters.4. They have comparatively lower elevation. Their average elevation is 600 meters.
5. The highest peaks in the Western Ghats are the Anai Mudi and the Doda Betta.5. The highest peak in the Eastern Ghats is Mahendragiri.

Was this answer helpful?
upvote 0