What are the major divisions in kingdom Plantae ? What is the basis for these divisions ?



Verified by Toppr

Some plants might have a thalloid body whereas some might have the plant body differentiated into true roots, stem, and leaves. Some might have a naked seed whereas some might have seeds enclosed in a fruit. Therefore, kingdom Plantae is divided into five major divisions which are Thallophyta, Bryophyta, Pteridophyta, Gymnosperms and Angiosperms. They all are different from each other on a certain basis.
The bases of these divisions are:
(i) Presence or absence of distinct organs like whether the plant body is differentiated into true root, stem, and leaf or not.
(ii) Presence or absence of distinct and differentiated tissues, which can carry food (phloem) and water (xylem).
(iii) Presence or absence of seeds.
(iv) Whether the seeds are enclosed within fruits or not.


Was this answer helpful?

upvote 0