In view of the coronavirus pandemic, we are making LIVE CLASSES and VIDEO CLASSES completely FREE to prevent interruption in studies

AIIMS Notable Alumni

The All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) are a group of autonomous public medical colleges of higher education. These institutes have been declared as Institutes of National Importance. The institutes are present in the following cities:

AIIMS New Delhi
AIIMS Bhopal
AIIMS Bhubaneshwar
AIIMS Jodhpur
AIIMS Raipur
AIIMS Rishikesh
AIIMS Nagpur
AIIMS Guntur
Being one of the most prestigious groups of institutes of India, prominent graduates from these institutes include celebrities, politicians, business people, athletes and many more. Here is the list of the most prominent alumni of AIIMS.

Deepak Chopra

Deepak Chopra is an Indian-born American author and a public speaker. He is a medicine advocate and a promoter of popular forms of spirituality and has been entitled as “controversial New-Age guru”. He completed his residencies in internal medicine and endocrinology before emigrating to the United States. First, he became involved with Transcendental Meditation movement and later established  Maharishi Ayurveda Health Center. He became the executive director of Sharp HealthCare’s Center for Mind-Body Medicine and in 1996 he co-founded the Chopra Center for Wellbeing.

He believes that a person may attain “perfect health”, a condition “that is free from disease, that never feels pain”, and “that cannot age or die”. According to his theory,  “human ageing is fluid and changeable; it can speed up, slow down, stop for a time, and even reverse itself,” and all this depends on one’s state of mind. He has also stated, “Your mind, your body and your consciousness – which is your spirit – and your social interactions, your personal relationships, your environment, how you deal with the environment, and your biology are all inextricably woven into a single process … By influencing one, you influence everything. He claims that he can treat chronic diseases such as AIDS which he describes metaphorically as  “a sound that lures the DNA to its destruction” and can be treated with “Ayurveda’s primordial sound”.

Rameshwar Nath Koul Bamezai

He is an Indian scientist working in the field of human genetics and cancer biology. He has served as the Vice-chancellor of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University and is the coordinator of the National Centre of Applied Human Genetics, School of Life Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University(New Delhi). He was honoured with the Padam Shri award for his contributions towards the field of science and technology by the President of India.

Vinay Kumar

He is the Alice Hogge & Arthur Baer Distinguished Service Professor of Pathology at the University of Chicago. He is also the Chair of the Department of Pathology. Dr Vinay Kumar graduated with honors from the University of Poona. He completed his MBBS from Punjab University Medical College,  Amritsar where he was entitled with the “Best Medical Graduate” for that year. He completed his PhD in experimental pathology at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. He also completed his residency from the same place in anatomic pathology and hematology where he was awarded the Khanolkar Prize for outstanding research in pathology.

Tirath Das Dogra

Tirath Das Dogra is an educationist and thinker and an Indian forensic pathologist. He is a former Pro-Chancellor and vice-chancellor of SGT University, Budhera Gurgaon Haryana. He is a former director of All India Institute of Medical Sciences(AIIMS), New Delhi. He is also the President of  National Medicos Organisation Delhi State since 2012. Presently he is an emeritus professor of forensic medicine and forensic sciences, professor of Andragogy and educational philosophy and Director Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) at SGT University Gurgaon. He has been felicitated with many awards for his outstanding developments in his field including the Distinguished Scientist Lifetime Achievement Award in Toxicology by The Indian Society of Toxicology.

Arvinder Singh Soin

He is a surgeon and pioneer in the field of liver transplantation. He established a big liver transplant center at Sir Ganga Ram Hospital. In June 2010, he moved to Medanta-The Medicity, Gurgaon to start a new center and presently he is the Chairman of the Institute of Liver Transplantation and Regenerative Medicine, Medanta-The Medicity, Gurgaon. He has performed more than 1000 living donor liver transplants in India, the highest in the country and second highest in the world. He and his team perform almost 25 live donor liver transplants every month and all of them turn out to be successful. He also handles cases from the rest of South Asia, The Middle East, and Africa. In 2010, he was awarded the Padma Shri by the President of India for his contributions to the field of medicine.

G. Suryaprakash

He is a distinguished Cardiologist in Andhra Pradesh. Currently, he is the Medical Director of Care Hospital, Secunderabad. and Musheerabad. Born in Andhra Pradesh, he completed his primary education there and then got admitted to medical education in Andhra Medical College, Visakhapatnam. After this, he got admitted to All India Institute of Medical Science to study further.

Ramesh C. Deka

He is an ENT specialist and the Ex-Director of All India Institute of Medical Sciences. He is one of the pioneers of cochlear implant surgery in India and has performed the country’s first bilateral cochlear implantation surgery. He has performed over 300 cochlear implant surgeries, including 200 in children and all were successful. He is an expert in endoscopic sinus and laryngeal/voice surgery. He obtained his MBBS degree from the Gauhati Medical College and Hospital and MS (ENT) from AIIMS, New Delhi. He received his training in otology, neurotology, and microsurgery of the ear at Northwestern University, Chicago, USA. He conducted neurophysiological studies on the inner ear at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville during his fellowship in the USA. He has also been keenly associated with community health programmes during his 37 years of experience in teaching, patient care, and research. He has been entitled with many awards for his excellent work in his field including the Lifetime Achievement Award on the Health Summit 2010 (World Congress on Drugless therapy) by the International Association of Educators for World Peace.  He has been the chairman, Indian Academy of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery (2002–2010); President of the Association of Otolaryngologists of India (2002–2003); President, All India Rhinology Society (2001–2002).

Check out our article on Books every AIIMS aspirant must have here.

Shock your Mom with more marks than she expected

Get access to 300,000+ questions curated by India’s best academic experts.

No thanks.

Request a Free 60 minute counselling session at your home

Please enter a valid phone number
  • Happy Students


    Happy Students
  • Questions Attempted


    Questions Attempted
  • Tests


    Tests Taken
  • Doubts Answered


    Doubts Answered