In view of the coronavirus pandemic, we are making LIVE CLASSES and VIDEO CLASSES completely FREE to prevent interruption in studies

CBSE Modifies class 10 passing criteria

CBSE Modifies class 10 passing criteria

The Central Board of Secondary Education has recently tweaked the passing criteria for this batch of Class X students writing their final board exams from March 5. CBSE modifies class 10 passing criteria.

A notification on Tuesday said the current batch, which has chosen five main subjects, will be exempted from the mandatory separate pass criteria in subjects that have 20 marks for internal assessment and 80 marks for the board examination. “They need to secure an overall 33% (both, internal assessment and board examination taken together) to pass,” the notification stated.

Last academic year, students had to secure 33% in the internal assessment as well as in the board examination separately to make it to the brink. The same pass criteria norms would apply to candidates if they had additional subjects, provided that the additional subjects comprised of 20 marks internal assessment and board examination which consisted of 80 marks.

However, the notification stated that there would be no exemption from the separate pass criteria for vocational subjects as the internal assessment there, consists of 50 marks. “In these subjects, the mandatory pass criteria for securing 33%, both in internal as well as 33% in board examination shall apply,” the notification stated. This is a one-time exemption as said by CBSE.

The current batch of Class X students will sit for the Board exam on March 5, which will be the first mandatory public exam after eight years. The CBSE had introduced the Comprehensive and Continuous Evaluation (CCE) scheme along with optional Board exam. Most of the students took the school-based exam.

According to the notification issued by CBSE chairperson Anita Karwal, the examination committee in its meeting recently decided to give the one-time exemption to the Class 10 students as they will be the first batch after the Board exam made a comeback. This news should bring some relief to the young minds preparing for their upcoming exams.

This rule will also apply for students with subjects under National Skills Qualifications Framework scheme for the five major subjects — two languages, science, mathematics and social science. The provision of replacement of subjects extended to the NSQF students “for the failed subjects (out of the three subjects – science, maths and social science) by the vocational subject (passed by the candidate under NSQF) would continue to apply”. However, for vocational subjects listed in Annexure I, which were notified on March 9, 2017, there will be no exemption from separate pass criteria as the internal assessment of these subjects comprise of 50 marks.

Stay tuned to stay updated.

Hope you liked this article on CBSE modifies class 10 passing criteria.

Shock your Mom with more marks than she expected

Get access to 300,000+ questions curated by India’s best academic experts.

No thanks.

Request a Free 60 minute counselling session at your home

Please enter a valid phone number
  • Happy Students


    Happy Students
  • Questions Attempted


    Questions Attempted
  • Tests


    Tests Taken
  • Doubts Answered


    Doubts Answered