Islands of India | Definition, Examples, Diagrams
Join Now

Islands of India

Download PDF for free

Indian Islands - definition

India has a vast mainland. Besides this, the country has also two groups of islands. The two groups of islands are - the Lakshadweep Islands and the Andaman and Nicobar islands.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands - definition

This group of islands includes as many as 572 islands of varying sizes, of which about 38 are inhabited. Though normally referred to as Andaman-Nicobar Islands, it consists of two distinct groups separated by a deep channel called Ten Degree Channel. 
Andaman group - Great Andaman and Little Andaman.
Nicobar group - 22 islands, 10 inhabited.

Lakshadweep Islands - definition

This is a group of 36 islands, inlets and reefs located in the Arabian Sea. They form the northernmost portion of a submerged mountain range containing Lakshadweep-Maldives and Chagos group of islands in the Arabian Sea. These islands are of the coral origin and have no hills or streams.

Islands of India - definition

Lakshadweep Group of Islands covers small area of 32 sq km. Kavaratti island is the administrative headquarters of Lakshadweep. The elongated chain of islands located in the Bay of Bengal extending from north to south. These are Andaman and Nicobar islands. They are bigger in size and are more numerous and scattered. The entire group of islands is divided into two broad categories The Andaman in the north and the Nicobar in the south.