Indian Culture

Sports Stadiums In India

India is home to many great stadiums in the world. The questions regarding these stadiums are a very common occurrence in banking exams. That is why we have prepared an exhaustive list of the stadiums in India. Below is the list of sports stadiums in India.

Suggested Videos

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow


Sports Stadiums in India

There many sports stadiums in India which have all the world-class facilities. The major sports stadiums in India are of Cricket, Football, and Hockey, etc. Almost all the states have more than one international level stadium.

Read more about Important Places in India here

sports stadiums in india

Browse more Topics under Indian Culture

  1. Important Places in India
  2. Indian Classical and Folk Dances
  3. Important Festivals & Events in India
  4. Important Bird Sanctuaries

Stadiums in North India

State City Purpose of Stadium Name of the stadium
Chandigarh Chandigarh Hockey Sector 42 Stadium
Haryana Hisar Sports and games Mahabir Stadium
  Gurgaon Cricket, Football Tau Devi Lal Stadium
  Rohtak Cricket Chaudhary Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium
  Rohtak Hockey Chaudhary Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium
Uttarakhand Dehradun Cricket Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium
NCR -Delhi Delhi Sports and games Indira Gandhi Arena
  Delhi Sports and games Talkatora Stadium
Punjab Chandigarh Hockey Sector 42 Stadium
  Sangrur Hockey War Heroes Stadium
  Mohali Cricket Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium
  Jalandhar Footbal Guru Gobind Singh Stadium
  Hoshiarpur Footbal Lajwanti Stadium
  Ludhiana Footbal Guru Nanak Stadium
  Ajitgarh Hockey International Hockey Stadium
  Patiala Cricket Dhruv Pandove Cricket Stadium
  Kapurthala Field hockey Guru Nanak Stadium
  Jalandhar Hockey Surjit Hockey Stadium
Delhi NCR Delhi Footbal Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium
  Delhi Cricket Feroz Shah Kotla
  Delhi Hockey Dhyan Chand National Stadium
  Delhi Footbal Ambedkar Stadium
  Delhi Sports and games Chhatrasal Stadium
Himachal Pradesh Dharamshala Cricket HPCA Cricket Stadium
  Una Cricket Indira Gandhi Stadium
Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar Footbal Bakhshi Stadium
  Sri Nagar Cricket Sher-i-Kashmir Stadium

Stadiums in West India

State City Purpose of Stadium Name of the stadium
Maharashtra Navi Mumbai Cricket, Football DY Patil Stadium
  Nagpur Cricket Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium
  Mumbai Cricket Wankhede Stadium
  Thane Football Dadaji Kondadev Stadium
  Solapur Cricket Indira Gandhi Stadium
  Nanded Cricket Guru Gobind Singh Stadium
  Pune Cricket Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium
  Mumbai Football Cooperage Football Stadium
  Sangamner Cricket Sangamner Municipal Cricket Stadium
Gujarat Ahmedabad Cricket Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium
  Surat Cricket CB Patel International Cricket Stadium
  Rajkot Cricket Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium
  Ahmedabad Footbal The Arena
  Baroda Cricket Moti Bagh Stadium
  Baroda Cricket IPCL Sports Complex Ground
  Rajkot Cricket Madhavrao Scindia Cricket Ground
Goa Margao Football Fatorda Stadium
  Vasco da Gama Footbal Tilak Maidan Stadium
  Mapusa Footbal Duler Stadium
  Taleigao Sports and games Dr Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Indoor Stadium
Rajasthan Udaipur Multi-purpose Gandhi Ground
  Jodhpur Cricket Barkatullah Khan Stadium
  Jaipur Cricket Sawai Mansingh Stadium

Stadiums in South India

State City Purpose of Stadium Name of the stadium
Karnataka Bangalore Cricket M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
  Bengaluru Footbal Sree Kanteerava Stadium
  Mangalore Football Mangala Stadium
  Mandya Football Visvesvaraya Stadium
  Mysore Cricket Gangotri Glades Cricket Ground
  Bangalore Football Bangalore Football Stadium
  Bangalore Hockey Bangalore Hockey Stadium
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram Sports and games Trivandrum International Stadium
  Kozhikode Football EMS Stadium
  Kochi Cricket, Football Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium
  Kollam Football, Athletics Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium
  Thiruvananthapuram Football Chandrasekharan Nair Stadium
  Thrissur Football Thrissur Municipal Corporation Stadium
  Kochi Multi-purpose Rajiv Gandhi Indoor Stadium
  Palakkad Football Fort Maidan
  Kollam Hockey International Hockey Stadium
Tamil Nadu Chennai Football Chennai Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium
  Coimbatore Cricket Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium
  Madurai Multi-purpose MGR Race Course Stadium
  Chennai Hockey Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium
Telangana Hyderabad Cricket Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium
Andhra Pradesh Visakhapatnam Cricket Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium
  Kadapa Cricket YS Raja Reddy Stadium

Stadiums in Central India

State City Purpose of Stadium Name of the stadium
Uttar Pradesh Greater Noida Auto Racing Buddh International Circuit
  Kanpur Cricket Green Park Stadium
  Lucknow Hockey Dhyan Chand Astroturf Stadium
  Varanasi Cricket, field hockey, football Dr Sampurnanda Stadium
  Greater Noida Cricket Greater Noida Cricket Stadium
  Agra Cricket Eklavya Sports Stadium
Madhya Pradesh Indore Cricket Holkar Cricket Stadium
  Indore Cricket Nehru Stadium
  Bhopal Football TT Nagar Stadium
  Gwalior Cricket Captain Roop Singh Stadium
  Jabalpur Footbal Ravi Shankar Shukla Stadium
  Bhopal Hockey Aishbagh Stadium
  Indore Cricket Emerald High School Ground
Chhattisgarh Raipur Cricket Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium
  Rajnandgaon Hockey International Hockey Stadium

Stadiums in East India

State City Purpose of Stadium Name of the stadium
Mizoram Aizawl Basketball Hawla Indoor Stadium
Nagaland Dimapur Cricket Nagaland Cricket Association Stadium
Manipur Imphal Football Khuman Lampak Main Stadium
Odisha Sambalpur Cricket Veer Surendra Sai Stadium
  Bhubaneswar Sports and games Biju Patnaik Hockey Stadium
  Bhubaneswar Cricket Bhausaheb Bandodkar Ground
  Cuttack Gymnastics Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium
  Cuttack Cricket DRIEMS Ground
  Bhubaneswar Hockey Kalinga Stadium
  Cuttack Cricket Barabati Stadium
  Bhubaneswar Cricket KIIT Stadium
  Bhubaneswar Cricket East Coast Railway Stadium
Tripura Agartala Cricket Maharaja Bir Bikram College Stadium
West Bengal Kolkata Football Salt Lake Stadium
  Kolkata Cricket Eden Gardens
  Siliguri Football Kanchenjunga Stadium
  Kolkata Football East Bengal Ground
  Kolkata Football Mohun Bagan Ground
  Kolkata Footbal Rabindra Sarobar Stadium
  Kolkata Football Mohammedan Sporting Ground
  Kolkata Football Jadavpur Stadium
  Kolkata Multi-purpose Netaji Indoor Stadium
Bihar Patna Cricket Moin-ul-Haq Stadium
  Patna Football Patliputra Sports Complex
  Siwan Football Rajendra Stadium
Jharkhand Ranchi Cricket JSCA International Cricket Stadium
  Ranchi Athletics Birsa Munda Athletics Stadium
  Jamshedpur Football JRD Tata Sports Complex
  Jamshedpur Cricket Keenan Stadium
  Ranchi Cricket Birsa Munda Football Stadium
  Ranchi Hockey Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium
  Ranchi Hockey Dilip Tirkey Stadium
Sikkim Namchi Football Baichung Stadium
  Gangtok Football Paljor Stadium
  Jorethang Football Jorethang Ground

Practice Questions on Sports Stadiums in India

Q. Feroz Shah Kotla stadium is located in which city?

A. Mumbai                 B. Ahmedabad                    C. Delhi                      D. Kolkata

Answer:  C. Delhi

Q. Vidarbha cricket stadium is located in________.

A. Nagpur                  B. Mumbai                           C. Delhi                      D. Kolkata

Answer: A. Nagpur

Share with friends

Customize your course in 30 seconds

Which class are you in?
Get ready for all-new Live Classes!
Now learn Live with India's best teachers. Join courses with the best schedule and enjoy fun and interactive classes.
Ashhar Firdausi
IIT Roorkee
Dr. Nazma Shaik
Gaurav Tiwari
Get Started

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Download the App

Watch lectures, practise questions and take tests on the go.

Customize your course in 30 seconds

No thanks.